TTI Awards 2018: Shortlist revealed!

LinkedIn +

With just a month to go until Tire Technology Expo 2018 gets underway in Hannover, Germany, the shortlisted nominations for this year’s Tire Technology International Awards for Innovation and Excellence have been revealed!

The awards are decided by the votes of a 30-strong panel of experts from the tire industry and academia. The winners will be announced during the Expo at a Gala Dinner in Hannover on the evening of February 21.

Materials innovation is at the heart of this year’s shortlist as the tire industry addresses the often conflicting challenges of better tire performance and reduced environmental footprint. As such, there are several nominations for new materials initiatives by tire makers and expert suppliers in the Tire Manufacturing Innovation and Environmental Achievement categories.

Cutting-edge development and test technologies feature in the Tire Technology of the Year category, where the use of digital tools and innovative laboratory-testing techniques is recognized.

And as always, the Tire Manufacturer of the Year award will be closely fought between four global tire makers. Two of them – Apollo Tyres and Hankook – opened advanced new factories in the past 12 months, reflecting the tire industry’s continuing shift to flexible, highly automated manufacturing technologies.

The shortlist in full:

Tire Manufacturing Innovation of the Year

Bartell – Automatic Truck Bead Apex System

Eastman – Crystex Cure Pro

Ferm – RFID mold solution

Versalis – BDSPs (butadiene di-block stereoregular polymers)

Environmental Achievement of the Year

Apollo Tyres/RRI – Epoxide natural rubber

Goodyear – Soybean oil initiative

JK Tyre & Industries Ltd

PPG/US DOE – Treated silica/NR truck-tire compound

Tire Technology of the Year

MegaRide – thermoRIDE / adheRIDE modeling tools

Nokian – Functional stud concept

NTRC – Asphaltant

Trelleborg – PneuTrac off/on highway tire

Yokohama – Informatics-based design

Tire Industry Supplier of the Year

Bartell Machinery Systems

Black Donuts Engineering

Cabot Corporation

Smithers Rapra

Tire Manufacturer of the Year

Apollo Tyres




In addition, the 2018 Young Scientist Prize and Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented on the night. These two prizes are subject to separate judging processes.

The awards are coordinated by Tire Technology International magazine, which is published by UKi Media & Events, the organizer of Tire Technology Expo. For full details of 2017’s winners, click here. 

For more information on Tire Technology Expo 2018, head to

Share this story:

About Author


Matt joined UKi Media & Events in 2014 after seven years of living and working in Dubai. He has been a journalist for over 15 years and has worked for a wide range of publications, including Rolling Stone, Time Out, iQ, Wired, Kipp Report and Loaded. After starting out on the automotive team as deputy editor of Engine Technology International, Electric & Hybrid Vehicle Technology International and Transmissions Technology International, he has been an editor since 2015, and began editing Tire Technology International in 2018. In 2020, he was appointed editor-in-chief of Tire, Electric & Hybrid Marine Technology International and Wheel Technology International. He is also the chairman of the Tire Technology International Awards for Innovation & Excellence

Comments are closed.