TTI Awards 2022: Shortlist revealed

LinkedIn +

With just over two weeks to go until Tire Technology Expo 2022 gets underway in Hannover, Germany, the shortlisted nominations for this year’s Tire Technology International Awards for Innovation and Excellence have been revealed.

The awards are decided by the votes of a panel of experts from the tire industry and academia. The winners will be announced during the Expo during a drinks reception on May 18.

Materials innovation is once again at the heart of this year’s shortlist as the tire industry addresses the often-conflicting challenges of better tire performance and reduced environmental impact. As such, there are several nominations for new materials initiatives by tire makers and expert suppliers in the Tire Manufacturing Innovation of the Year, Tire Technology of the Year and Environmental Achievement of the Year categories. In the Tire Technology of the Year category, materials technology also dominates, plus there are developments in the testing and development arenas.

And as always, the Tire Manufacturer of the Year award will be closely fought between leading international tire makers. In the last year, these manufacturers have publicly ramped up efforts to improve the sustainability of their products as well as refreshing their offerings to cater for an increasingly automated and electrified vehicle market.

The shortlist in full:

Tire Manufacturing Innovation of the Year
Bekaert – BeCoFree
VMI – Revolute
Herrmann – Durable Tire Cutting (DTC) Sonotrode
Color Service – Automatic Bag Delivery

Environmental Achievement of the Year
Bridgestone, Arlanxeo and Solvay – Techsyn
Continental – ContiRe.Tex
The Tyre Collective – Tire wear particle capture
Kumho Petrochemical – Eco-friendly biosilica
DRI Rubber – Sustacom
Synthos – Bio-butadiene for sustainable rubber
Color Service – Anti-Dust Kit

Tire Technology of the Year
Yokohama – HAICoLab
MegaRide – VESevo
Dufournier – Ai3T
Tekna – Vision Tire System 3D

Tire Industry Supplier of the Year
Black Donuts Engineering
Uzer Makina
Comerio Ercole
HF Group

Tire Manufacturer of the Year

In addition, the 2022 Young Scientist Prize and Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented on the night. These two prizes are subject to separate judging processes.

The awards are coordinated by Tire Technology International magazine, which is published by UKi Media & Events, the organizer of Tire Technology Expo. For full details of 2020’s winners, click here.

For more information on Tire Technology Expo 2022, head to

Share this story:

About Author


Matt joined UKi Media & Events in 2014 after seven years of living and working in Dubai. He has been a journalist for over 15 years and has worked for a wide range of publications, including Rolling Stone, Time Out, iQ, Wired, Kipp Report and Loaded. After starting out on the automotive team as deputy editor of Engine Technology International, Electric & Hybrid Vehicle Technology International and Transmissions Technology International, he has been an editor since 2015, and began editing Tire Technology International in 2018. In 2020, he was appointed editor-in-chief of Tire, Electric & Hybrid Marine Technology International and Wheel Technology International. He is also the chairman of the Tire Technology International Awards for Innovation & Excellence

Comments are closed.